Foci – Learner Project Update

After some much needed reassurance from David, I am going to run with my original idea for this project – to create a collaborative photo page using Flickr to test the social consciousness of people participating in various forms of social media extends beyond clicking ‘Like’ and ‘Share’.

In order to achieve this it quickly became clear that a plan was needed.

  1. Set up a Flickr account.
  2. Find out set up the account to enable people to share photographs directly to the site.
  3. Design the campaign.
  4. Consider the wording of the activity to ensure participants did not feel ‘pressured’ to participate as is often the case with these kinds of social campaign online.  Steps need to be simple and easy to follow to encourage participation.
  5. Trial the campaign with a number of test subjects to refine the wording of the activity and ensure photographs load as to the campaign’s Flickr page.
  6. Make any necessary refinements.
  7. Plan the release of the campaign, ensure adequate time between phases to observe the rate of participation of the various forms of social media.
  8. Monitor campaign Flickr page.

So this last week has been all about getting the project up and running.


Title

 Step One:

Setting up a Flickr account proved to be easy enough, though l needed to set up yet ANOTHER email account due to Flickr’s affiliation with Yahoo.  In setting up the account, I wanted to ensure my personal details did not appear on the page.  After exploring the features of Flickr for a while I ended up heading to the ‘Help Forum’ and search for details concerning changing details etc.  It was not particular helpful.  So back to experimentation it was and not long after I stumbled upon how to change these settings.  I also tweaked the privacy setting to ensure my personal details were not made public on the page.  Finally I was able to upload a photograph to banner the campaign’s page and took another photograph to serve as the pages ‘icon’ identification.

Step Two:

Finding out how the set up the campaign proven to be exceedingly more difficult.  Flickr Help Forum was not particular helpful initially as I really didn’t know what I was looking for.  So, I went back the project that David shared with us, looking particularly at the instructions provided.  How was this going to help?  I then proceeded to ‘poke’ around the ‘technology in learning‘ page but still nothing.  So it was off to Google!

Through Google’s magical powers I found lots of example of collaborative projects to participate in, but few instructions.  I eventually came across a few teacher blogs and websites where they touched on how they used Flickr with their classes before coming across a ‘SlideShare’ link.  While this document, nor the sites I visited gave me the answer, it helped to refine my wording enough to help find what I needed in the Flickr Help Forum.  In my quest for information I also search the world of Twitter but found little success here either.  Had this failed my next step was to use ‘Flickr mail’ to contact the owner of the ‘technology in learning’ Flickr page to see if they might be able to help me out.   Turns out whole process is quite simple…when you know how!

So now it was looking like I was ready to go. I had an email account so that participants could email their photos directly to the page and the sharing features, now set up (including a default copyright settings for uploaded photos), would enable it to be loaded to the page almost instantaneously. Time to test it works!

[In the spirit of ‘Seek Sense Share’  I would like to create a  more detailed explanation to help others navigate this process but for now I have placed a the few links at the bottom of this post that might help you in setting up your own ‘Collaborative Projects’ using Flickr.]

Step Three:

I decided to centre to campaign around the idea of ‘A wish for the planet’.  The story of Sadako and the Thousand Paper Cranes has always resonated with me, and many a time my class and I have read this story and been inspired to make paper cranes.  With so much tragedy going on around the world at the moment the two ideas seemed like the perfect fit – make a thousand paper cranes and a wish for the future!

Step Four, Five and Six:

Using the information provided through David’s Week One activity and other example of collaborative projects that I was able to find online I began to look at the wording of my campaign.  After feedback from my testers (a couple of tech savvy family and friends) and a little tweaking, I decided on the following wording. Short, to the point and most importantly – no pressure or use of intimating language design to ‘guilt’ people into participating.  After all I am hoping to test the social consciousness of social media participants not force anyone to develop a social conscious!

Some of you may notice that I have not used ‘tags’.  It was in my initial plan to have people ‘tag’ where they learnt of the project (email, blog, Facebook, Edmodo, Twitter) to help in the collation of my results. Feedback, however, suggested that this made the process a little more complicated and given they already had to work out how to make a crane, it might deter people further from participating.  I bowed to their advice!

Instructions

It should be noted that the format of the text may need to be changed to suit different social mediums, but the content of the message will remain the same.

Step Seven:

In order to monitor how the campaign performs via different social media platforms it is my intention to use Saturday as a launch day.  I have chosen Saturday based on data concerning key engagement times for each of the media platforms and the beginning of the weekend seem generally like the ideal time.

My plan is to release the campaign in the following order to allow for tracking of participation.  It should be interesting to see the final results.

Saturday 26 July – Small number of close family and friends (6)

Saturday 2 August – Blog/Course Discussion Board and Facebook Friends

Saturday 9 August – Edmodo and Twitter

Would be great if you could all get involved and make a crane for the cause…but no pressure!

Step Eight:

As you can see on the feed I have running on my blog, a few cranes have begun to surface on the site thanks to those close family and friends.  My brother is responsible for the ‘Anti Establishment Crane’, bless him!  At least he had a go. He had not idea what he was doing but with his usual sense of humour got involved anyway.

It is interesting to see, even in these early days how the pictures have evolved. People are clearly accessing the site  to see what others have done before they make their crane.  They also seem to be following the lead of the first crane posted (pink floral crane in front of the small white vase), placing the crane in a specific location to take the photograph.  The also appear to be using the second photograph of ‘Scuba Crane’ to inspire the name of their images.  It will be interesting to see it this trend continues!


A couple of link to help set up your own ‘Collaborative Project’ using Flickr

Upload to Flickr email – if you then click on ‘configuring your upload email address’, providing that you are logged into your Yahoo account it will take you straight to the details you need to share photos via email.

Geek to Live: Flickr Advanced User Guide

4 responses to “Foci – Learner Project Update

  1. Pingback: Catching up on the NGL participation | The Weblog of (a) David Jones

  2. Pingback: Part C of catching up on NGL | The Weblog of (a) David Jones

  3. Pingback: ‘As Student’ / ‘As Learner’ – Sharing my Learning | iThink, iTeach, iTeens

  4. Pingback: As a learner, participation in NGL was useful for me but I now know why! | EVEN ELMO'S GOT A MOBILE

Leave a Reply

