Daily Archives: 18 August, 2014

Trying to find a place for an introvert in NGL!

Apologies for my absence over the last week or so but I have had the need to visit family in North Queensland and I have also been struggling a little to overcome some hurdles with this course.  This is something that I have been thinking about these last few weeks as I work to get my head around constructivism and NGL.  And in particularly how it fits into my world.

In my search for answers I came across this table from the Open Educational Resources of UCD Teaching and Learning, University College Dublin and I thought I would share it.  It explains perhaps why I see value and potential in constructivism but am find greater difficulty in tackling the more social constructivism structure of NGL.

Constructivism table

 

 

 

 

 

 

Constructivism and social constructivsm seem to have some notable difference. In reflecting on Annelise’s post  ‘Being an extrovert in an online world, I find myself wondering what role personality type might then play in an individual’s comfort levels and self-efficacy in approaching a more social constructivist approach to learning.  And it turns out I am not alone!

In my desire to better understand whether or not there is a connection between the two I came across Catherine Lombardozzi’s post –  On being “QUIET”.  

In this post Catherine refers to a book written by Susan Cain, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking.  From her reading Catherine reflects on her own approach to teaching and the learning experiences she creates for others and identifies, what I believe, are some useful considerations when working with more introverted personalities.  While the list is too extensive to present here, it is well work a look.  In her article Catherine confesses to being a more extroverted personality herself, and despite her list of considerations and all that she reading regarding the needs of more introverted personality she still prefaced her suggestions with the statement:

Engaging with others is critical to learning – and despite Susan Cain’s argument to the contrary – I think it is critical to creativity and innovative thinking as well.

There is an innate danger, I believe, in this kind of thinking.  Some of the most creative and innovative people this world has know identify themselves as introverts.  Mahatma Ghandi, Barack Obama, innovators such as Albert EinsteinBill Gates, Steven Wozniak, Larry Page and artists such as Salvador Dali, Picasso,  JK RowlingSteven Spielberg and Angelina Jolie.  And this is only the tip of the iceberg!

Perhaps the words of Susan Cain herself say it best and which come with such with high praise from Bill Gates, the great introvert himself, who names Susan’s Ted speech one of his all-time favourite TED Talks

Food for though anyway!


Lego - Wonder Woman_cropped

 

THE TEAM GETS A NEW MEMBER!

Susan Cain welcome to my Team of Experts!

 


IMAGE CREDIT

Lego - Wonder Woman_cropped

 

 

 

Image by: Julian Fong (original image has been cropped)Creatice Commons_by-sa